Flash Fiction Series: Crimson Sky

crimson-sky

The second part of my flash fiction series. This week it’s Crimson Sky.

 

Crimson Sky

The sky looks so beautiful as I lay her to rest.  She would have loved it, the crimson reflecting bright in the stillness of the lake. The wind brushes against my ear as she whispers goodbye.

“I’ll miss you too,” I respond, soft and sad.

I choke back the tears that threaten my composure. She would want me to be strong.

“Goodbye,” I whisper, pushing her body out onto the lake.

The kayak leaves shimmering ripples in its wake as it slides through the water.

I brush another tear from my cheek as the water begins to bubble up through the holes in the wooden hull.

I was going to miss her so much.

I suppose, somewhere deep down, I’d known that before I’d even picked up the knife.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Amwriting, Short Stories, Writing

Leave a Reply

